Sneak Peek: A Pocket Full Of Spells

And now for a sneak peek at my upcoming novella ‘A Pocket Full of Spells’, due December 1st from LazyDay Publishing.

I fired at the vamp as I moved towards her, two shots thudding into her chest. She span towards me, mouth wide open and her fangs displayed. A hellishly fast kick snapped out. It caught me on the wrist and sent my .44 spinning away to slide under a table.

She was small and exquisite, with flashing green eyes, like a tiny red haired fairy but one with a bite; in this case quite literally. I’d have been tempted to have a grapple with her in better times but having someone try and chew your face off can tend to put a dampener on your ardour.

I have been told it is not polite to hit women, and I generally try and live by that rule. There are times when you just have to make exceptions, like when you run into vamps or succubi. That is when you have to make a choice. Would you rather chivalry or yourself die? Me, I’d go with chivalry breathing its last every time.

She aimed another kick at me, this time going for my head. Given the differences in our height it was extraordinarily flexible. My hands snapped up, grabbing her ankle and stopping the kick just fractions of an inch in front of my face. Before I could pull her off balance she leapt up into the air and twisted, kicking her other foot into the side of my head. I lost hold of the grip on her as my head rang and vision spun. She landed lightly and whipped around to face me again, balanced and bouncing on her feet.

I stepped back, trying to regain my composure, reaching for one of the 9mm handguns tucked into my belt. The aim was to give her a face full of lead. It wouldn’t kill her but it would certainly hurt her and slow her down.

She wasn’t having any of it, darting in to chop down on my arm almost before the gun cleared my belt. The blow numbed my arm and the gun clattered away to join the first one.

The vamp was proving a dangerous and annoying opponent, freakishly fast and hard hitting, and what is more one with obvious training in the arts of unarmed combat. Me, I’m a street brawler. No finesse, no style, just a vicious no hold barred approach to the contest. It put me at a disadvantage in this fight.

About Ash Stirling

Author of the darker side of things View all posts by Ash Stirling

Leave a Reply

